Message sent from:

Foundation Stage

During the reception year the children follow the Foundation Stage curriculum. The curriculum is divided into the following six areas of learning:

Personal, Social & Emotional Development:
Developing self confidence and the confidence to persevere and try new activities; building new relationships and working and playing together; understanding the needs and views of others; becoming independent in as many ways as possible.

Communication, Language and Literacy:
Developing skills in speaking and listening and helping to gain confidence in early reading and writing skills.

Mathematical Development:
Making sense of the language of mathematics; understanding the use of numbers as labels and for counting, simple calculations and to understand simple ideas of shape and measurement in its many forms.

Knowledge and Understanding of the world:
Developing knowledge, skills and understanding that help them to make sense of and find out about, the world they live in, forming the foundation for later work in Science, Technology, History, Geography and ICT.

Physical Development:
Improving and developing skills of co-ordination, control, manipulation and movement, as well as P.E., dance and games; using construction and other small equipment, scissors, paintbrushes, pencils, crayons etc; developing fine motor skills.

Creative Development:
Using their imaginations in art, music and role play; being creative; making connections in their learning and becoming creative learners.

Hit enter to search